Skip to content
StatusGet API key

Llama 4 Maverick

Meta

Meta's Llama 4 Maverick mixture-of-experts model with image input and a 1M-token context window.

Visionsingle providerus-eu-hosted

meta-llama/llama-4-maverick

Also callable as llama-4-maverick

Try in the console playgroundAPI examples

Call it

Base URL https://api.thetoken.dev/v1, your API key in TOKEN_API_KEY.

from openai import OpenAI
import os
client = OpenAI(base_url="https://api.thetoken.dev/v1", api_key=os.environ["TOKEN_API_KEY"])
stream = client.chat.completions.create(
model="meta-llama/llama-4-maverick",
messages=[{"role": "user", "content": "Explain failover in one sentence."}],
stream=True,
)
for chunk in stream:
if chunk.choices and chunk.choices[0].delta.content:
print(chunk.choices[0].delta.content, end="")

Providers

Requests go to the first provider and move down the list if it fails. TOKEN's price applies whichever provider serves the request.

#ProviderPrecision (as the provider states it)Data locationus-eu-hosted
1Novita AIFP8 native · checked October 19, 2026USYes

Performance

Measured on TOKEN's streamed requests; shown from 10 requests in a window.

WindowTTFT p50TTFT p90Output speed p50Output speed p90
Last 24 hours…………
Last 7 days…………

TTFT is the time from TOKEN receiving the request to the first token. Output speed is tokens per second after the first token. p50 is the median; p90 is the time 9 in 10 requests beat.

Availability

Request success: the share of real requests answered, after any failover; errors count against it. Last 30 days, one bar per day:

  • 24 hours: …
  • 7 days: …
  • 30 days: …

Endpoint availability: a request to this model every 5 minutes from outside our infrastructure (Better Stack), on the status page. Method: Reliability.

Capabilities

Inputtext, image
Outputtext
ReasoningNo
Tool callingNo (requests with tools are refused with a clear error)
Structured output (JSON schema)Not stated by the maker
Maximum outputNot stated by the maker
Context window1,048,576 tokens

As stated by Meta, checked October 24, 2026: ai.meta.com, dev.meta.ai, github.com.

Questions

Who makes Llama 4 Maverick?

Llama 4 Maverick is made by Meta and was released on April 5, 2025. TOKEN serves the maker's released weights through upstream providers; it does not train or modify the model.

What is the context window of Llama 4 Maverick?

1,048,576 tokens (1M).

At what precision does TOKEN serve Llama 4 Maverick?

The first provider in the routing order serves FP8, the maker's own native release format. TOKEN never routes to a quantized copy; a provider that does not state its precision is used only as a labelled backup.

Which providers serve Llama 4 Maverick on TOKEN?

Novita AI, in that routing order. It has a single provider today, so there is no failover until a second one qualifies.

How much does Llama 4 Maverick cost?

$0.30 per 1M input tokens and $0.94 per 1M output tokens, the same whichever provider answers. You pay from prepaid credit in USD; each top-up carries a 5.5% credit purchase fee, shown at checkout.

Does Llama 4 Maverick support tool calling, images or reasoning?

Tool calling: No. Image input: Yes. Reasoning: No. Structured (JSON schema) output: Not stated by the maker.

Where are my requests processed?

At the provider that answers: US. Keys in the us-eu-hosted group only use US and EU hosts.

Does TOKEN store my prompts or responses?

No. TOKEN keeps token counts and request metadata for billing and logs, not the content of prompts or responses. See the privacy policy.

What happens if a provider of Llama 4 Maverick fails?

The request is retried, up to three times. With a single provider there is no other provider to move to yet.

Will Llama 4 Maverick be retired without notice?

No. TOKEN gives at least 30 days of notice before a model is retired.

TryAPI