Skip to content
StatusGet API key

Kimi K3

Moonshot AI

Moonshot AI's Kimi K3 reasoning model with a context window of about 1M tokens.

Reasoningus-eu-hosted

moonshotai/kimi-k3

Also callable as kimi-k3

Try in the console playgroundAPI examples

Call it

Base URL https://api.thetoken.dev/v1, your API key in TOKEN_API_KEY. This model reasons before it answers; stream the response to see output as it arrives.

from openai import OpenAI
import os
client = OpenAI(base_url="https://api.thetoken.dev/v1", api_key=os.environ["TOKEN_API_KEY"])
stream = client.chat.completions.create(
model="moonshotai/kimi-k3",
messages=[{"role": "user", "content": "Explain failover in one sentence."}],
stream=True,
)
for chunk in stream:
if chunk.choices and chunk.choices[0].delta.content:
print(chunk.choices[0].delta.content, end="")

Providers

Requests go to the first provider and move down the list if it fails. TOKEN's price applies whichever provider serves the request.

#ProviderPrecision (as the provider states it)Data locationus-eu-hosted
1DeepInfraMXFP4 native · checked October 19, 2026USYes
2Fireworks AIMXFP4 native · checked October 19, 2026Not statedNo
3Novita AINot stated (backup only) · checked October 19, 2026USYes

Performance

Measured on TOKEN's streamed requests; shown from 10 requests in a window.

WindowTTFT p50TTFT p90Output speed p50Output speed p90
Last 24 hours…………
Last 7 days…………

TTFT is the time from TOKEN receiving the request to the first token. Output speed is tokens per second after the first token. p50 is the median; p90 is the time 9 in 10 requests beat.

Availability

Request success: the share of real requests answered, after any failover; errors count against it. Last 30 days, one bar per day:

  • 24 hours: …
  • 7 days: …
  • 30 days: …

Endpoint availability: a request to this model every 5 minutes from outside our infrastructure (Better Stack), on the status page. Method: Reliability.

Capabilities

Inputtext, image, video
Outputtext
ReasoningYes, adjustable effort
Tool callingYes
Structured output (JSON schema)Yes
Maximum output1,048,576 (default 131,072)
Context window1,040,000 tokens

As stated by Moonshot AI, checked October 24, 2026: www.kimi.com, www.kimi.com, platform.kimi.ai, huggingface.co.

Questions

Who makes Kimi K3?

Kimi K3 is made by Moonshot AI and was released on July 16, 2026. TOKEN serves the maker's released weights through upstream providers; it does not train or modify the model.

What is the context window of Kimi K3?

1,040,000 tokens (1M). The maker states a maximum output of 1,048,576 (default 131,072) tokens.

At what precision does TOKEN serve Kimi K3?

The first provider in the routing order serves MXFP4, the maker's own native release format. TOKEN never routes to a quantized copy; a provider that does not state its precision is used only as a labelled backup.

Which providers serve Kimi K3 on TOKEN?

DeepInfra, Fireworks AI and Novita AI, in that routing order. If one fails, the request moves to the next.

How much does Kimi K3 cost?

$3.14 per 1M input tokens and $15.68 per 1M output tokens (cached input $0.32), the same whichever provider answers. You pay from prepaid credit in USD; each top-up carries a 5.5% credit purchase fee, shown at checkout.

Does Kimi K3 support tool calling, images or reasoning?

Tool calling: Yes. Image input: Yes. Reasoning: Yes, with adjustable effort. Structured (JSON schema) output: Yes.

Where are my requests processed?

At the provider that answers: US and not stated by the provider. Keys in the us-eu-hosted group only use US and EU hosts.

Does TOKEN store my prompts or responses?

No. TOKEN keeps token counts and request metadata for billing and logs, not the content of prompts or responses. See the privacy policy.

What happens if a provider of Kimi K3 fails?

TOKEN retries the request on the next provider in the routing order, up to three times, without any change on your side.

Will Kimi K3 be retired without notice?

No. TOKEN gives at least 30 days of notice before a model is retired.

TryAPI